FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

Smartsheet -> Planner notes and limitations

All information in this article also applies to the Smartsheet -> MS Planner and Smartsheet -> Planner (basic plans) migration scenarios. 

Assignments Migration

Users themselves are not migrated from the source to the target tenant. Necessary users whose task assignments need to be migrated should already exist in the target tenant. The source users should be mapped with the target users in the User Mapping section for the correct assignment migration. Source and target users with different Display Names and accounts can be mapped, and it is not required for them to match fully. 

Task user assignments will be migrated if the source users are mapped to the corresponding target users. Mapped users assigned to tasks will be added:

  1. Workspace and Sheet Owner will also be added to the Office 365 group as owners and members.
  2. Sync account will also be added to the Office 365 group as owner and member. 
  3. Task User assignment who is not a member of the workspace or sheet will be assigned to the target task but will not be added to the Office 365 group.
  4. Text assignments will not be assigned.

Maximum of 20 users can be assigned to one task in Plan. If there are more than 20 resources assigned to a task in the source Project, assignments will be added to the task up to 20 resources in total. Other source resource assignments for that task will be skipped.

Microsoft 365 Group and Project Creation

If the migration is performed to an existing Microsoft 365 group(s), the Planner connection account should be a member or an owner of that group.

The target Planner connection account should be an owner and a member of an existing Private Microsoft 365 group to be able to add members to it during the migration (in case the account is not Global Admin in the target tenant).

If new Microsoft 365 groups are created during the migration, the target Planner migration account will be set as the group owner and member.

Maximum of 250 Microsoft 365 groups can be created with a non-admin user account in the Microsoft 365 tenant. Only that number of groups will be created during the migration that will fit the limit of total of 250 groups together with the existing groups previously created by that user.

If the ‘Create groups using Sheet names’ migration setting is selected, and there are existing Plans and groups in the target Planner that have the same names as the migrated ones, new Plans will not be created, but their data will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names. If ‘Create all Plans in one group’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration settings are selected, and there are existing Plans in the specified Microsoft 365 group that have the same names as the migrated ones, the data from such Plans will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names.

If the ‘Create new and remove existing Plans before creating’ migration setting is selected, and there are existing Plans with names that match the selected source Plans names in the target Planner, such target plans will be removed together with all their tasks before creating new Plans with the same names.

All groups will be created as public in the target environment, and the settings of existing groups will remain the same.  

All source Workspace/Sheet owners and members (workspace/sheet is shared to) if they are mapped are added to the target M365 group if they are graph users.

Maximum of 20,000 tasks can be created by one migration account. If your source system has more than 20,000 tasks you need to perform migration in batches using separate accounts (when the maximum number of tasks for one account is exceeded).

Attachments Migration

1. Maximum of 10 attachments, Files, and Links in total can be added to one Plan task. All row attachments will be migrated to the target system, and files from the source item will be added to the item folder on the group SharePoint site. However, only 10 attachments will be added to a task in Planner, and others will be skipped. 

If there are already any attachments added to an existing task in the target Plan that is updated during the migration, file and link attachments from the source item will be added to the task up to 10 attachments in total. Other attachments for that task will be skipped.

Was this article helpful?

Table of contents

    Back To Top