FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

    Sorry, we didn't find any relevant articles for you.

    Send us your queries using the form below and we will get back to you with a solution.


    Project for the web -> Planner notes and limitations

    In this article, we will review the known limitations for Project for the web -> MS Planner migration scenario. 

    Microsoft 365 Group and Plan Creation

    • The source Project for the web connection account should be a member of all Project for the web projects (their Microsoft 365 groups) that need to be migrated. In case there are projects without associated groups, the account should be their creator to be able to migrate them.
      The Project for the web connection account with the System Administrator security role in the Environment is not required to be a member of all projects/groups as it has access to read all Project for the web data (not only personal or shared projects). However, the account will not have access to migrated task attachments from the source projects if it is not a member of the corresponding project group. 
    • In case the migration is performed to an existing Microsoft 365 group(s), the target Planner connection account should be a member or an owner of that group.
    • The target Planner connection account should be an owner and a member of an existing Private Microsoft 365 group to be able to add members to it during the migration (in case the account is not Global Admin in the target tenant).
    • Source Microsoft 365 groups can be migrated only for the selected Projects and using ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ group creation mode. Using another group creation mode, target groups will be created or updated during the migration without preserving the source group settings.
    • Microsoft 365 group Privacy setting is migrated if ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ group creation mode is selected and a target group(s) is created during the migration.
    • Microsoft 365 group settings are migrated if ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ group creation mode is selected and a target group(s) is created during the migration. The source group mail nickname will be preserved as well. The settings and mail nicknames of an existing target group will not be changed. In case another group creation mode is selected, source Microsoft 365 group settings and mail nickname will not be migrated.
    • If new Microsoft 365 groups and Planner Plans are created during the migration, the target Planner migration account will be set as the group and Plan owner and member.
    • All source group owners can be migrated to the target group if ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ group creation mode and ‘Migrate all source group members and owners’ option are selected for the migration, and the corresponding users are mapped. Otherwise, ownership of a created group will be set to the target Planner migration account used for creating the group(s) and Plans. Other source group owners will not be set for the target group.
    • All source group members can be migrated to the target group if ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ group creation mode and ‘Migrate all source group members and owners’ option are selected for the migration, and the corresponding users are mapped. In other cases only mapped users that are assigned to tasks in the migrated Project(s) will be added as members to the corresponding Microsoft 365 group in the target tenant.
    • 200 Plans maximum can be created in one Microsoft 365 group. If the ‘Create all Projects in one group’ migration setting is selected for the migration and the total number of Plans to migrate is more than 200, only 200 Plans will be migrated to a new Microsoft 365 group, and others will fail. If ‘Create all Plans in one group’ migration setting is selected and an existing Microsoft 365 group is specified, where there are already some Planner Plans, only that number of Projects will be migrated which fits the limit of total of 200 Plans in the group together with the existing Plans.
    • 250 Microsoft 365 groups maximum can be created with a non-admin user account in the Microsoft 365 tenant. Only that number of groups will be created during the migration that will fit the limit of total 250 groups together with the existing groups previously created by that user.
    • The Planner migration account will be set as the user that has created new Plans and tasks in Planner (‘Created By’ field) and has been the last user who has updated existing items (‘Last Changed By’ field) during the migration.
    • Creation date & time for Planner Plans and tasks, created during the migration, will be set to the date when the migration was performed.
    • The Last Changed time for a task will be set to the time when the migration was performed, and the task was updated.
    • If ‘Create groups using Project names’ or ‘Create groups with source group names and settings’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration settings are selected, and there are existing Plans and groups in the target Planner that have the same names as the migrated projects, new Plans will not be created, but their data will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names. If ‘Create all Projects in one group’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration settings are selected, and there are existing Plans in the specified Microsoft 365 group that have the same names as the migrated ones, the data from such Plans will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names.
    • In case there are Projects in the source tenant that have absolutely the same names, they will be migrated to one Plan and their data will be merged in that Plan if the ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration setting is selected. To have the Projects with the same names created as different ones, it is necessary to migrate them separately to different Microsoft 365 groups.
    • If the ‘Create new and remove existing Plans before creation’ migration setting is selected, and there are existing Plans with names that match the selected source Project names in the target Planner, such target Plans will be removed together with all their tasks before creating new Plans with the same names.

     

    Assignments Migration

    • Users are not migrated from the source to the target tenant. Users, whose task assignments need to be migrated, should already exist in the target tenant. The source users should be mapped with the target users in the User Mapping section for the correct assignment migration. Source and target users with different Display Names and accounts can be mapped, it is not required for them to fully match. 
    • Task user assignments will be migrated if the source users are mapped to the corresponding target users. Mapped users, assigned to tasks, will be added as members to the target Plan and Microsoft 365 group.
    • 11 users maximum can be assigned to one task in Planner. If there are already any users assigned to an existing task in the target Plan, that is updated during the migration, user assignments from the source item will be added to the task up to 11 users in total. Other source user assignments to that task will be skipped. In P4W – 20 assignments per task. 


    Attachments Migration

    • Maximum 10 attachments, files, and links in total, can be added to one Plan task. All file attachments from the source task will be migrated and added to the task folder on the group SharePoint site in the target tenant. However, if there are already any attachments added to an existing task in the target Plan, that is updated during the migration, file and link attachments from the source item will be added to the task up to 10 attachments in total. Other attachments for that task will be skipped. In P4W – 15 attachments per task. 
    • File and SharePoint attachments will be downloaded from the source site and uploaded to the corresponding target group site if the attachments are stored in the Shared Documents (‘Documents’) folder on the source SharePoint site of the group where the migrated project belongs to. Otherwise, the file or SharePoint attachment will not be migrated to the target group site, but the link to such an attachment in the source tenant will be added to a task in the target Plan.

     

    Please note: This list may not be exhaustive. If your new Project for the web project is missing elements or data, they may rely on an unsupported feature that is not listed.

    Was this article helpful?

    Table of contents

      Still can't find what you're looking for?

      Contact Support
      Back To Top