FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

    Sorry, we didn't find any relevant articles for you.

    Send us your queries using the form below and we will get back to you with a solution.


    Trello -> Planner migration notes and limitations

    In this article, we will review the limitations of Trello -> Planner migration.

    Microsoft 365 Group and Plan Creation

    1. Now all target Microsoft 365 groups will be created as Public ones during the migration. If the migration is performed to the existing Microsoft 365 group(s), their Privacy setting will not be changed.

    2. All Trello Boards - Public, Organizational, Workspace Visible, and Private – will be migrated as Public Planner Plans. If it is necessary for the Plans to be created as Private ones in Planner, Private Microsoft 365 group(s) for those Plans should be created in the target tenant before the migration, and the corresponding Migration Settings should be selected to create the migrated Plans in the existing Private Microsoft 365 group(s). Alternatively, the group Privacy may be changed as needed after the migration.

    3. If the migration is performed to an existing Microsoft 365 group(s), the Planner connection account should be a member of that group.

    4. Mapped users that are Workspace Members in the selected Board Workspaces (but not added to the Board Members) are added as members to the corresponding target Plan and Microsoft 365 group if the ‘Migrate all source workspace members’ migration option is selected. 

    5. Maximum 200 Plans can be created in one Microsoft 365 group. If the ‘Create all Plans in one group’ migration setting is selected for the migration and the total number of Boards to migrate is more than 200, only 200 Boards will be migrated as Plans to a new Microsoft 365 group, and others will fail.
     If ‘Create all Plans in one group’ migration setting is selected and an existing Microsoft 365 group is specified, where there are already some Planner Plans, only that number of Boards will be migrated which will fit the limit of total of 200 Plans in the group together with the existing Plans. 

    6. Maximum 250 Microsoft 365 groups can be created with a non-admin user account in the Microsoft 365 tenant. Only that number of groups will be created during the migration that will fit the limit of total of 250 groups together with the existing groups previously created by that user.  

    7. If new Microsoft 365 groups and Planner Plans are created during the migration, the Planner migration account will be set as the group and Plan owner and member.

    8. The Planner migration account will be set as the user that has created new Plans and tasks in Planner (‘Created By’ field) and has been the last user who has updated existing items (‘Last Changed By’ field) during the migration.

    9. Creation date & time for Planner Plans and tasks, created during the migration, will be set to the date when the migration was performed.

    10. Last Changed time for a task will be set to the time when the migration was performed, and the task was updated.

    11. If ‘Create groups using Board names’ or ‘Create groups using source workspace names’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration settings are selected, and there are existing Plans in Planner that have the same names as the migrated Boards, new Plans will not be created for such Boards, but their data will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names.
    If ‘Create all Plans in one group’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration settings are selected, and there are existing Plans in the specified Microsoft 365 group that have the same names as the migrated Boards, the data from such Boards will be merged to the existing Plans with the matching names.

    12. In case there are Boards in the source system that have absolutely the same names, they will be migrated to one Plan and their data will be merged in that Plan if the ‘Create new or merge with existing Plans’ migration setting is selected. To have the Boards with the same names created as different Plans, it is necessary to migrate them separately to different Microsoft 365 groups.

    13. If ‘Create new and remove existing Plans before creation’ migration setting is selected, and there are existing Plans with names that match the selected Board names in Planner, such Plans will be removed together with all their tasks before creating new Plans with the same names for the migrated Boards.

    Assignments Migration

    1. Users themselves are not migrated from the source to the target system. Necessary users, whose item assignments need to be migrated, should already exist in the target tenant. The source users should be mapped with the target users in the User Mapping section for the correct assignment migration. Source and target users with different Display Names and accounts can be mapped, it is not required for them to fully match.  

    2. Maximum of 11 users can be assigned to one task in Planner. In case there are more users assigned to one item in the source Board, only the first 11 users will be added to the corresponding Planner task and other assignments will be skipped due to the limitation.
     If there are already any users assigned to an existing task in the target Plan, that is updated during the migration, user assignments from the source item will be added to the task up to 11 users in total. Other source user assignments to that task will be skipped.

    3. Mapped users, assigned to items in the source Board, and Board Members (Workspace Members and Guests) are added as members to the corresponding target Plan and Microsoft 365 group during the migration.

    4. Mapped users that are Workspace Members in the selected Board Workspaces (but may be not added to Board Members) are added as members to the corresponding target Plan and Microsoft 365 group if ‘Create groups using source workspace names’ migration setting is selected.

    Attachments Migration 

    1. Maximum 10 attachments, Files and Links in total, can be added to one Plan task. All item attachments will be migrated to the target system, and files from the source item will be added to the item folder on the group SharePoint site. However, only 10 attachments will be added to a task in Planner, and others will be skipped. 

    2. If there are already any attachments added to an existing task in the target Plan, that is updated during the migration, file and link attachments from the source item will be added to the task up to 10 attachments in total. Other attachments for that task will be skipped.

    Checklist migration:

    1. Only one checklist can be added to a Plan task in Planner. In case there are two or more checklists in one Board card in Trello, only the first checklist will be migrated, and its items will be added to the target Plan task. Other card checklists will be skipped.

    2. Maximum 20 checklist items can be added to a task in Planner. The source checklist items will be added to a task in the target Plan up to 20 items in total. Other card checklist items will be skipped. 

    3. The checklist item length is limited to 100 characters max in Planner. In case the name of a checklist item is longer than 100 characters in the source checklist, it will be trimmed to 100 characters in the target task checklist in Planner.

    4. If there is an Advanced Checklist with user assignments and due dates added to the card in the source Board, only checklist item names will be migrated to the target task (as such advanced checklists are not supported in Planner).

    Labels migration:

    1. Maximum 25 Labels can be added to a Plan in Planner. If there are more than 6 Labels in the source Board, only the first 25 Labels will be migrated to the target Plan and set to their tasks in correspondence with the source, and others will be skipped. 

    Was this article helpful?

    Table of contents

      Still can't find what you're looking for?

      Contact Support
      Back To Top