In this article we will review how to license Integration Hub and the logic of Integration Hub endpoints.
Integration Hub Licensing
To install Integration Hub follow the steps described in the Integration Hub installation article.
As you install Integration Hub application a trial license will be applied at once.
A trial version of Integration Hub is available free of charge for 7 days and is limited by 24 endpoints.
After 7 days the trial license is exceeded and you can obtain a paid license.
To obtain a full license for Integration Hub, please submit a request to Sales Team at firstname.lastname@example.org providing the following details:
1) Full Name;
2) Company Name;
3) Contact Email;
4) The integration scenario you are interested in (e.g. Project Online ↔ Jira).
The following scenarios are available in the Integration Hub application:
- Project Online ↔ Azure DevOps
- Project Online ↔ Jira
- Jira ↔ Project Online
- Project Online ↔ Planner
- Planner ↔ Project Online
- Project Online ↔ SharePoint List
- Project Online ↔ Office365
- Project Online ↔ Outlook
Integration Hub Endpoints
An endpoint is allocated for 30 calendar days when one successful synchronization of one unique project in one direction takes place. The number of synchronized entities in your project doesn’t matter.
For example, if you create a synchronization of your Jira project to Project Online and successfully run it, one endpoint is allocated. If reverse sync from Project Online to Jira is configured and successfully done, another endpoint will also be used. However, further updates of the same project will not use endpoints.
If the project which previously used an endpoint is not synchronized for 30 calendar days, the endpoint will be restored to your license. Hence, you can get rid of synced projects you don’t need anymore and use the released endpoints for new projects. (This option does not include the case when the overall number of 24 endpoints is exceeded.).
Please note: The logic of counting endpoints in Project Online -> Outlook integration scenario is different than in other scenarios. One endpoint is allocated for 30 calendar days when one successful data transfer of one unique task from Project Online to an event in Outlook takes place. So, successful integration of each unique task takes one endpoint only one time in 30 days.
Also, for integration with Outlook, Global Admin account should be used. If a task in Project Online has a few users assigned to it, during the integration to Outlook each user will receive this task as an event in their Outlook calendars as well as the user who is Global Admin will receive a notification. In this case an endpoint will be allocated for one task only once regardless the number of users who receive an event.
The endpoints are not used if the synchronization fails for any reason or no data were written to the target project (e.g., the synchronization was launched and performed successfully, but no updates to the source project were found).
The amount of the endpoints used is recalculated daily.
Trial Integration Hub users who exceed the number of the endpoints available will get a notification and their synchronization scenarios will be disabled in 3 days. (It is not possible to get rid of synced projects you don’t need anymore and use the released endpoints for new projects in this case.)
Licensed Integration Hub users who exceed the number of available endpoints will receive a notice. They will have 30 days to extend or upgrade their license before their integration scenarios are disabled.
To see how many endpoints are in use, visit the Integration Hub Statistics page. By clicking on the green endpoints logo and checking the “Billable” checkbox you can also access a detailed report about all the activities where endpoints were consumed.