In this article, we will review permission prerequisites that an account used for backup and restore operations should meet.
As one account is used for backup and restore operations as for now, please review all the requirements to select a suitable connection account for all operations.
For Backup operations:
Any active Trello user account with the necessary access can be used for the connection to the Trello environment. An account with the Admin role is not required.
Trello Workspaces and Boards will be available for backup depending on the connection account access level in Trello. The following Trello data will be read using the connection account:
- All Trello Workspaces where the connection account is added as a Workspace Member or an Admin.
- Trello users that are Workspace Members in the Workspaces where the connection account is a Member or an Admin, and users that are members of the Boards to which the connection account has access.
- All Public, Workspace Visible, and Organization Boards, where the Trello connection account is a Board member (with Admin, Member, or Observer role) or a member/admin of the Board Workspace.
- All Private Boards where the account is added as a Board Member (with Admin, Member, or Observer role). All Workspace Private Boards may be available if the account is a Workspace Admin, and the admin access to Private Boards within the Workspace is allowed.
- All Closed Boards where the account is added as a Board Member.
In order to connect to a Trello account for the first time, FluentPro Backup should be granted access to the account via the app. The app access can be revoked anytime from the account settings in Trello.
FluentPro Backup will have the following permissions for reading data once the access is granted:
- Read the connection account name and username
- Read the account email address
- Read all Boards and Workspaces that the account has access to
- Read the account Workspace Power-Ups
- Read the account Enterprises
For Restore operations:
- Workspace restore: The connection account should be active, with the Admin role in the existing Workspace to be able to update the Workspace properties and add members to it.
- Board restore – merge to the existing Board: The account should be a Board Admin to be able to update the Board name, Settings, and role/permission of the Board Members. The Board Member role is enough to add missing members, create and update Lists, Labels, Cards, attachments, and Card default and custom fields.
- Board restore – create a Board copy: The account should be an Admin or a Member in the Workspace where the Board copy will be created, and the Board creation should not be restricted for the account.
- Board restore – delete before restore: The account should be either a Workspace Admin or a Board Admin (if it is a Member in the workspace) to be able to delete the original Board before restore. The Board deletion should not be restricted for the account.
FluentPro Backup will have the following permissions for reading and writing data once the access is granted:
- Create and update Boards and Workspaces, add members, create and update Board Lists, Cards, card fields and attachments
- Make comments on behalf of the connection account
- Update and manage the account Enterprises