FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

Smartsheet -> Planner Premium notes and limitations

All information in this article also applies to the Smartsheet -> Planner Premium (Project for the web) migration scenario. 


General Limitations

Area Details / Description
Schedule mode It is recommended to use the Fixed Duration schedule mode in Planner Premium to migrate data as accurately as possible.
Summary Tasks data Summary Task data is not migrated directly and is calculated automatically based on the subtasks. If a source Summary Task has assignments, those assignments will not be added to the target Summary Task. The total effort may also be different from the source total work.
Start Date and Finish Date behavior The source Start Date is migrated as the Start Date. By default, the Finish Date is calculated automatically as Start Date + Duration.
Finish Date when Duration is not mapped or does not exist If Duration is not mapped or does not exist, the Finish Date is set to the source Finish Date, and Duration is calculated automatically.
If there are no dates in the source: 
  • If a source task has no dates but has Work values, it will be migrated with today’s date.
  • If a source task has no dates but has Duration, it will be migrated with today’s date as the Start Date, and Finish Date will be calculated as Start Date + Duration. If Duration is not mapped or does not exist, the Finish Date will be set to the source Finish Date.
  • If a source task has no dates but has Progress, it will be migrated with today’s date as the Start Date, and Finish Date will be calculated as Start Date + Duration. If Duration is not mapped or does not exist, the Finish Date will be set to the source Finish Date.
Both task dates outside the project range
If both task dates are outside the Project Start and Finish range, the dates will not be set.
One task date outside the project range
If one task date is outside the project range, the second date will be set to the date that is within the project range.
Milestones in progress
Milestones that are in progress, represented by tasks with Duration = 0, are migrated as Completed.
Dependencies and task dates
Task dates with dependencies may be moved if it is not possible to set them exactly as in the source.
Maximum hierarchy level
The maximum supported hierarchy level is 10 levels. If the source hierarchy has more than 10 levels, additional levels will be set to the last supported level.
Weekends
Task dates that fall on weekends are moved to the next possible date according to the target calendar.
Maximum total tasks per project
The maximum total number of tasks for a project is 3,000. If there are more than 3,000 tasks in a source project, only 3,000 tasks will be migrated, and the remaining tasks will be skipped.

Maximum total project duration


The maximum total duration for a project is 3,650 working days (10 years). If the difference between the earliest source task Start Date and the latest source task Due Date is more than 3,650 working days, the Project Start and Finish Dates will be adjusted:
  • The Project Start Date will be set to the date 3,650 working days from the Project Finish Date.
  • The Project Finish Date will be set to the latest source task Due Date.
Maximum duration of an individual task The maximum duration of each task is 1,250 working days. If the difference between the source task Start Date and Due Date is greater than 1,250 working days, the target task Start Date will be set to the same date as the target Task Finish Date.
Supported task date range The supported date range for a task is 1/1/2000–12/31/2149. If source task dates are outside the supported range, the target dates will be adjusted according to the applicable conditions.
Both task dates earlier than 1/1/2000 If both source task dates are earlier than 1/1/2000, the target task dates will not be set.
One task date earlier than 1/1/2000 If one source task date is earlier than 1/1/2000 and the second date is later than 1/1/2000, both target dates will be set to the date that is later than 1/1/2000.
Tasks with only one date If a source task has only a Start Date or Finish Date, it will be migrated with both dates to the target project. The date that is not set in the source task will be set to the same date as the one that is set.
Maximum Labels per project A maximum of 25 Labels can be added to a Project in Planner Premium.
Source Project contains more than 25 Labels If there are more than 25 Labels in the source Project, only the first 25 Labels will be migrated to the target Project and assigned to their tasks in correspondence with the source. The remaining Labels will be skipped.

 

Assignments Migration

Area Details / Description
Users are not migrated Users themselves are not migrated from the source to the target tenant. Necessary users whose task assignments need to be migrated should already exist in the target tenant.
User Mapping requirement Map source users to target users in the User Mapping section to migrate task assignments correctly. You can map source and target users with different Display Names and accounts; they do not need to fully match.
Task assignment migration Task user assignments will be migrated if the source users are mapped to the corresponding target users.

Mapped users assigned to tasks will be added:

  • As members of the corresponding target Project, Project Team;
  • Dynamics bookable resource.
  • Workspace and Sheet Owner will also be added to the Office 365 group as owners and members.
  • The sync account will also be added to the Office 365 group as an owner and member. 
  • Task user assignments who are not members of the workspace or sheet will be assigned to the target task but will not be added to the Office 365 group.
  • Text assignments will be added as local resources.
Maximum resources per project The maximum total number of resources for a project is 150. If there are more than 150 unique assignments in one project, only 150 assignments will be added, and the remaining assignments will be skipped.
Maximum users assigned to one task A maximum of 20 users can be assigned to one task in a Project.
Source task contains more than 20 resources If more than 20 resources are assigned to a task in the source Project, assignments will be added to the target task up to 20 resources total. Other source resource assignments for that task will be skipped.


Microsoft 365 Group and Project Creation

Area Details / Description
Migration to an existing Microsoft 365 group If you migrate to an existing Microsoft 365 group(s), the Project connection account must be a member or owner of that group.
Existing Private Microsoft 365 group The target Project connection account must be both an owner and a member of an existing Private Microsoft 365 group to add members during migration if the account is not a Global Admin in the target tenant.
Ownership of newly created groups If new Microsoft 365 groups are created during the migration, the target Project migration account will be set as the group owner and member.
Maximum groups created by a non-admin account A non-admin user account can create a maximum of 250 Microsoft 365 groups in the Microsoft 365 tenant. Only the number of groups that fits within the total limit of 250 groups, including existing groups previously created by that user, will be created during migration.
‘Create groups using Sheet names’ If the ‘Create groups using Sheet names’ migration setting is selected and there are existing Projects and groups in the target Project with the same names as the migrated ones, new Projects will not be created. Instead, their data will be merged into the existing Projects with matching names.
‘Create all Projects in one group’ + ‘Create new or merge with existing Projects’ If ‘Create all Projects in one group’ and ‘Create new or merge with existing Projects’ are selected, and there are existing Projects in the specified Microsoft 365 group with the same names as the migrated ones, the data from those source Projects will be merged into the existing Projects with matching names.
‘Create new and remove existing Projects before creating’ If the ‘Create new and remove existing Projects before creating’ migration setting is selected and there are existing Projects in the target Planner Premium with names matching the selected source Project names, those target Projects will be removed together with all their tasks before new Projects with the same names are created.
Group Privacy All Microsoft 365 groups created during migration will be Public in the target environment. Existing group settings will remain unchanged.
Source Workspace/Sheet owners and members All source Workspace/Sheet owners and members (users to whom the Workspace or Sheet is shared) will be added to the target Microsoft 365 group if they are mapped and are Graph users.


Was this article helpful?

Table of contents

    Back To Top