In this article, we will review permission prerequisites that an account used for backup and restore operations should meet.
- The connection account is required to be a Licensed User in Smartsheet.
- The account should be a Group Admin to be able to restore Groups. The Groups can be backed up with the account that does not have the Group Admin role. However, the Group Admin is required for the Group restore.
Additionally, if the restore is to the existing Group where the account is not an Owner, it should have the System Admin role to be able to update it.
- The account should be a paid one to be able to back up Users.
- System Admin role in the tenant is not required. However, it is recommended if such User details as user roles/permissions should be backed up. If the account is not a System Admin, the Users will be backed up but without their roles
To connect to a Smartsheet account, FluentPro Backup should be granted access to it – the FluentPro Backup app should be authorized after the login.
FluentPro Backup will have the following permissions in Smartsheet once the access is granted:
- View basic user info, including name and email
- Read sheets, including attachments and comments
- Update sheets, including attachments and comments
- Share sheets
- Create sheets
- Delete sheets
- Add and remove users and groups from your organization
- Modify sheet columns and settings
- Manage workspaces and folders
- View account users, groups, and group members
- Retrieve contacts
The granted access to the Smartsheet environment can be revoked anytime from the account Personal Settings -> Apps by clicking ‘Revoke’ for the FluentPro Backup app in Smartsheet.
Smartsheet Workspaces and Sheets will be available for the backup depending on the connection account access level in Smartsheet – its roles in the Workspaces and Sheets:
- Those Sheets will be available for the backup where the connection account is added to the Sheet Shares with any role (Owner, Admin, Editor, Commenter, Viewer), or to the Workspace Shares where the Sheet is located, with any role.
- Personal and shared to the user Sheets, even if their Workspace(s) is not shared, are available and backed up with the Sheets folder.
- Those Workspaces will be available for the backup where the connection account is added to the Workspace Shares with any role (Owner, Admin, Editor, Commenter, Viewer)
Additional Account Requirements for Restore
Currently, the same account is used for the restore operations to Smartsheet in FluentPro Backup.
- The restore account should be an Owner or an Admin in the existing Workspace to be able to update it, delete and create Sheets in it. If the account is not added to the Workspace Shares with any role, the Sheet will be created in the Sheets Folder.
- The restore account should be a Sheet Owner, or an Owner/Admin in the Sheet Workspace to be able to delete existing Sheets with the ‘Delete Sheet before restore’ Restore Mode.
- The restore account should be a Sheet Owner or an Admin to be able to update the Sheet settings, columns, and other data with the ‘Merge with existing sheet’ Restore Mode. The account with the Editor role will be able to update only Row data during the restore with merging to the existing Sheet.