FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

Planner Basic -> Asana migration notes and limitations

In this article, we will review the notes and limitations of the Planner Basic (MS Planner) -> Asana migration.

Please note: Plans without groups are not supported in the Planner (basic plans) -> Asana migration scenario. 


Migration to Workspace

Area Details / Description

Project visibility


All projects are created as Public in the Workspace.


Source group and Plan members


All members of the source Microsoft 365 groups and Plans will be added as Members to the corresponding Projects in Asana with Edit permission (shared with Edit permission), if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Project owner


The Target System account will be set as the project owner for all migrated Plans.


Migration to an existing project


If migration is performed to an existing project, the target account should be a member of that project with Edit permission.


Team Migration and Creation:

1. Migration to the new Team

Area Details / Description

Team visibility


All Teams are created as Public to the Organization.


Project visibility


All projects are created as Public to the Team.


Source group and Plan members added to Team


All members of the source Microsoft 365 groups and Plans will be added as Members to the corresponding Team in the Asana organization if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Source group and Plan members added to Projects


All members of the source Microsoft 365 groups and Plans will be added as Members to the corresponding Projects in Asana with Edit permission (shared with Edit permission) if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Project owner


The Target System account will be set as the project owner for all migrated Plans.


Task assignments


Mapped users assigned to tasks in the source Plan will be assigned to the corresponding project tasks.
If a user assigned to a task in the source Plan is not a group member, the user will still be assigned to the target task, but will not be added as a project member and will not be shared with the project.


Free Team member limit


If the target user has permission to create only free Teams, where the user member limit is 15, only the first 15 Team members will be added, and the remaining users will be skipped.
Accordingly, a maximum of 15 users can be added to the project Team members (shared with). Any additional users will be skipped.


2. Migration to the existing Team

Area Details / Description

Migration to an existing Team


If you migrate to an existing Team, the target account must be a member of that Team.


Migration to an existing project


If you migrate to an existing project, the target account must be a member of that project with Edit permission.


Project visibility


All projects are created as Public to the Team.


Source group and Plan members added to Team


All members of the source Microsoft 365 groups and Plans will be added as Members to the corresponding Team in the Asana organization if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Source group and Plan members added to Projects


All members of the source Microsoft 365 groups and Plans will be added as Members to the corresponding Projects in Asana with Edit permission (shared with Edit permission) if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Project owner


The Target System account will be set as the project owner for all migrated Plans.


Task assignments


Mapped users assigned to tasks in the source Plan will be assigned to the corresponding project tasks.
If a user assigned to a task in the source Plan is not a group member, the user will still be assigned to the target task, but will not be added to the project and will not be shared with the project.


Paid Active Member seat risk


Because all group members will be added to the target Team in the Asana organization when the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped, the migration may exceed the number of paid Active Member seats if it is performed to an existing Business/Premium Team.


Avoiding paid seat overage through User Mapping


To avoid exceeding paid Active Member seats, review User Mapping and map only the number of users that does not exceed the available paid Active Member seats.
Alternatively, check all Teams after migration and, if you exceed the seat limit, remove extra users.


Checklist Migration

Area Details / Description

Planner checklists become Asana subtasks


Planner task checklists are migrated as subtasks below their parent task to the same Bucket.


Completed / Incomplete checklist items


Completed checklist items are migrated as completed subtasks. Incomplete subtasks are migrated as not completed.


Assignments Migration

Area Details / Description

Multiple assignments in Planner vs Asana


Planner tasks support multiple assignments, but Asana tasks support only one assignee.
If more than one user is assigned to the source task, the first assignment will be migrated as the assignment on the target Asana task.
If the first source assignee is not mapped in User Mapping, the second assignment will be migrated and assigned instead.


Labels migration

Area Details / Description

Label color


All Labels will be migrated with a grey color. After migration, the user can manually set the necessary color for each tag.


Was this article helpful?

Table of contents

    Back To Top