FluentPro Help Center

What do you need help with?

Planner Basic -> Monday.com migration notes and limitations

All information in this article also applies to the Planner Basic (MS Planner) -> Monday.com migration scenario. 

Please note: Plans without groups are not supported in the Planner Basic -> Monday.com migration scenario. 

Area Details / Description

Workspace type / Privacy

During the migration, all Workspaces will be created as Open Workspaces in Monday.com, regardless of the source Microsoft 365 group Privacy setting.


Board type / Privacy

All target Boards will be created as Main (Public) type regardless of the source Plan/group Privacy. The migration will not change the type of existing boards.


Required Monday.com migration account permissions

The Monday.com migration account whose personal API token is used for the migration must have permissions to create new Workspaces and read existing Workspaces, create and update Boards, read users, and upload files in Monday.com.


Migration to an existing Workspace

If the migration is performed to an existing Monday.com Workspace, the target migration account should be added as a Workspace Member to be able to create new Boards in the Workspace.


Migration to existing Boards

If the migration is performed to existing Monday.com Boards (Main, Shareable, or Private), the migration account should be added to the Board Members and should be a Board Owner to be able to add users to the Board Members. The account should also have permissions to edit the existing Boards.


Existing Workspace must contain a Board

If the migration is performed to an existing Monday.com Workspace, the Workspace should include at least one Board. An empty Workspace cannot be found during the migration; therefore, a new Workspace with the same name will be created.


Main Workspace limitation

Currently, Boards cannot be created in the Main Workspace during the migration.


Users are not migrated

Users themselves are not migrated from the source to the target system. Necessary users whose item assignments need to be migrated should already exist in the target tenant.


User Mapping requirement

Source users should be mapped to target users for correct assignment migration. Source and target users with different Display Names and accounts can be mapped; they are not required to fully match.


Microsoft 365 group members and owners are not added to Workspaces

Microsoft 365 group members and owners are not added as Workspace Owners and Members due to Monday.com API limitations. You can add them manually after the migration, if needed.


Assigned users and Board membership

Mapped users assigned to tasks in the source Plan will be added as members of the corresponding target Board and assigned to Board items.


Target Guest user limitations

Target Guest users cannot be assigned to items or added to Members and Owners in Main and Private Boards in Monday.com.
If a source user who is a group member or is assigned to tasks in the migrated Plan is mapped to a target Guest user, that user will be skipped during migration. The user will not be added to the Board Members, and their assignments will not be set in Main and Private Boards.


Migrating source Microsoft 365 group members

All source Microsoft 365 group members for the selected Plans will be added to the target Board Members if the corresponding users exist in the target system and are mapped.


Migrating source Microsoft 365 group owners

All source group owners for the selected Plans will be added to the target Board Owners if the corresponding users exist in the target system, have the Member or Admin role, and are mapped.


Migration account ownership and membership

The Monday.com migration account will be set as an owner and a member of the Workspaces and Boards created during the migration.


‘Creation Log’ and ‘Last Updated’ users

The Monday.com migration account will be set as the user who created new Boards and items in Monday.com in the ‘Creation Log’ field. It will also be set as the last user who updated existing items during the migration in the ‘Last Updated’ field.


Creation date and time

The creation date and time for Boards and items created during the migration will be set to the migration date.


Last Updated time

The Last Updated time for items will be set to the time when the migration was performed and the items were updated.


‘Create new or merge with existing Boards’

If the ‘Create new or merge with existing Boards’ migration setting is selected and there are existing Boards in the destination Monday.com Workspace(s) with the same names as the migrated Plans, the data from those Plans will be merged into the existing Boards with matching names.



Was this article helpful?

Table of contents

    Back To Top